Establishing a Business Name: A Creative Process

28 02 2009

For the past two weeks I have been brainstorming and researching a business name for my start-up company.  I’ve approached this from a number of perspectives: using online and print dictionaries, a thesaurus, domain name search, discussions with my spouse, and mindmapping.

At times I felt frustrated.  I was seeking a short “punchy” name to encapsulate the key focus of my business strategy but was dissatisfied with my efforts. However, it was not until I took a different approach by looking at my philosophy and passion did the thoughts and concept really flow.  I was so focused on “getting it done” that I missed the opportunity to freely associate ideas planted in my mind before I went to sleep.  I woke up early this morning thinking of a number of key words so I grabbed a piece of paper and started to doodle as the ideas poured out.

As the saying goes, “Rome was not built in a day”.  I’ve learned from this experience that creativity is an iterative process of planting seeds and nurturing ideas over time.  Rather than focusing on “getting it done”, I needed time to “get it right”.  This meant I had to give myself permission to relax and ponder a range of possibilities that could be organized and reorganized a number of ways.

So what resulted from my doodling and reorganizing key words with hand-drawn mindmaps?  Stay tuned for a future post.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

