The Magic (and Brilliance) of Particles in Second Life

18 04 2010

On Saturday, April 17 our ImagiLearning group was treated to an amazing array or sights and sounds as Jopsy Pendragon demonstrated his artistic and scripting skills.  Jopsy is the developer of the particle  tool called The Porgan that allows residents in Second Life to quickly create an endless array of particles that are special visual effects for the virtual world.

The beauty of The Porgan is that you do not need to know Linden Scripting Language (LSL).  Rather, The Porgan produces formatted LSL script to a website where you can copy the code to then create variations on the script when working in-world.

Some of Jopsy’s work is captured on Flickr and in this short video.

My basic understanding of LSL scripting is definitely growing as I start to understand the nuances and power of the code.  It’s always fun to experiment as I continue my quest to transform the way I think and create opportunities for immersive learning experiences.  I’m sure I’ll have more to report about my experiences with The Porgan and using LSL for specific projects in the near future (such as creating customized teleporters to instantly transport an avatar from one Second Life location to another).

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 04 2010
Jim Sutton

I enjoyed the session also. 15 months ago when I entered Second Life, I wondered what could be done there. I really did not become convinced until about 6 months later that there was value. This has been my first real introduction to what can be done with particles and I am excited about what can be done… and the customization is the best.

Great post. Thanks for sharing.

Always room for humor: Newspaper Bloopers:Dr. Benjamin Porter visited the school yesterday and lectured on “Destructive Pests”. A large number were present.

19 04 2010
theaussieguy

Thanks for your comment Jim. We keep learning something new all the time in SL and like yourself, I’m fascinated by the possibilities. Let’s keep experimenting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

